Student Council

Abbey Students Council 2019-2020

Student Council

The main role of a Student Council is set out in the Education Act “to promote the interests of the school and the involvement of students in the affairs of the school, in co-operation with the board, parents and teachers”. The student council leadership team is a representative structure for all the students in the school. It has a very important role in augmenting the voice of the whole student body through the respective class leaders. Each class group has at least one student representative elected. Students develop a range of leadership skills by being active members on the council, which are all transferable and will be of benefit to them during their time at school and as they navigate their way through life after school in third level, the world of work and beyond. Mr. Conor Hayes and Ms. Niamh McCarthy are the link teachers for the 2020-2021 Student Council.

The Student Council sets its own objectives, and these vary from year to year. Some general objectives could be uniform related, food in the canteen, policies, improved communication between teachers/management and students. They meet at regular intervals to discuss matters arising in the school. They are led by Mr. Hayes and Ms. McCarthy from the staff, who coordinate the meetings. The meeting is chaired by the Chairperson and the minutes recorded by the Secretary.  This year the Chairperson is Ben Cosgrave (6th Year) and the Secretary is Shane Maher (5th Year)

The Student Council regularly receives training from either the ISSU (Irish Second Level Students Union) or from ERST (Edmund Rice Schools Trust). The Abbey is an ERST school, and we are very lucky to have the support and guidance from ERST when required in promoting the student leadership team.

2021 Student Council Leadership Team

1st Year

Tom Bradshaw, Jack O’ Keeffe, Patrick O’ Connor, Mark Flanagan, Conor O’ Donoghue and Niall O’ Shea

2nd Year

Eoin O’ Brien, Jack Cunningham and Jake Bourke

3rd Year

CillIan Crowe, John Phelan, John O’ Brien, Kevin Stanley, Thomas Hanley


Matthew Burke, Tadhg Gubbins, Shane O’ Connor, TJ Moloney, Sam Ryan, Conall Grogan

5th Year

Shane Maher, Eoin Reardon, Jack Moylan and John Hogan


Evan Hawkins and Josh Flannery

6th Year

Ben Cosgrave, Aaron Buckley, Luke Kinane and Jack Flannery


Officers for 2020-2021 are:  

Chairperson: Ben Cosgrave

Secretary: Shane Maher

Deputy Secretary: Eoin Reardon

PRO: Matthew Burke

Deputy PRO: Tadhg Gubbins